Empowering Entrepreneurship

Enabling Growth

Faster growth

The Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation (SwissEF) is under the patronage of Federal Councillor Guy Parmelin, which he took over form former Federal Councillor Johann N. Schneider-Ammann. SwissEF focuses on improving the framework conditions for entrepreneurship. An upscaler programme and political initiatives form the central elements with a CHF 500 million Swiss fund for growth financing. Faster growth for Swiss start-ups and SMEs as well as new high-quality jobs are initiated.

 

Bundesrat Guy Parmelin
022019

Media Conference 7.2.19

The FINMA approval for the Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund was communicated at the media conference held on 7 February in Berne. Urs Berger, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, stressed that investing in the fund not only generates a return but also an important "impact" for Switzerland.

[Translate to english:]

012019

FINMA Approval

Thanks to an efficient FINMA process and our motivated, interdisciplinary and hard-working team, we were able to obtain approval for the Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund at the end of January. An extremely important milestone in the history of the SwissEF.

FINMA
012019

Honorary President

Former Federal Councillor Johann Schneider-Ammann was one of the initiators of the Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation and made a significant and committed contribution to the successful establishment of the non-profit foundation and the Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund within just over a year. Schneider-Ammann was appointed Honorary President of SwissEF by the Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Urs Berger, at the media conference on 7 February 2019 on the basis of his great merits.

Bundesrat Johann Schneider-Ammann
012019

Pilot Project

The UpScaler program for growth companies was tested in a pilot project with two Swiss start-ups. Both are in the midst of internationalisation, i.e. exactly in the phase on which the SwissEF UpScaler is focusing. The four-month test phase provided important insights. Thanks to the valuable experience and feedback from the experts and the growth companies, we will intensify the program even further.

112018

1st Parliamentarian Meeting

During the winter session, we were able to successfully hold the first parliamentary event. SwissEF President Urs Berger and the SwissEF Foundation Councils Ruedi Noser and Pascale Vonmont discussed the issue with the Councils of States and National Councils. The taxation of employee shares and options as well as the quotas and administration of qualified employees from third countries were the main topics of intensive discussion. Karim Maizar, Partner at Kellerhals Carrard and Mathias Haussmann, CEO of Ueepa AG, underlined the need for action with practical examples.

112018

Hearing @ Federal Palace

Federal Councillor Johann Schneider-Ammann and SwissEF have invited 30 start-up representatives from all over Switzerland to a hearing at the Federal Palace. An intensive two-hour hearing was held with the aim of identifying and prioritising the most important needs for improving the framework conditions for start-ups and entrepreneurship. The two topics "Taxation of shares and options" and "Qualified foreign workers" were discussed in greater depth.

[Translate to english:]

102018

Female Entrepreneurs

The SwissEF Advisory Board was further strengthened. Three successful female entrepreneurs were recruited as new members. Annette Heimlicher (Contrinex AG), Bettina Ernst (Preclin Biosystem) and Lea von Bidder (AVA Science) will make their extensive experience available to SwissEF in the future.

Annette Heimlicher
062018

Alain Chuard

The successful Swiss entrepreneur, who sold his startup Wildfire to Google in 2015, will become a member of the Advisory Board of SwissEF. Alain lives in Silicon Valley and visits Switzerland regularly.

Alain Chuard
042018

New Managing Director

Peter Stähli – founder and long-standing CEO of the Swiss Economic Forum (SEF) – takes on the role of Managing Director at the Swiss Entrepreneurship Foundation (SwissEF).

Peter Stähli
122017

Establishment SwissEF

The Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation is founded under the patronage of Swiss Federal Councillor Johann N. Schneider-Ammann, with Urs Berger as President.

 

Urs Berger
072017

Letter of intent

Declaration of intent for establishing a Swiss fund for venture and growth capital signed by Credit Suisse and UBS, two major Swiss banks. It is now planned to establish the fund in the coming months and conclude the extensive authorisation process with FINMA by December 2018.

 

Christian Wenger

Empowering Entrepreneurship

Enabling Growth

Schnelleres Wachstum

Die Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation (SwissEF) steht unter dem Patronat von Bundesrat Guy Parmelin, das er von alt Bundesrat Johann N. Schneider-Ammann übernommen hat. Die SwissEF fokussiert sich auf zu verbessernde Rahmenbedingungen für das Unternehmertum. Ein Upscaler-Programm sowie politische Vorstösse bilden mit einem CHF 500 Millionen Schweizer Fund für Wachstumsfinanzierungen die zentralen Elemente. Schnelleres Wachstum für Schweizer Startups und KMU sowie neue hochwertige Arbeitsplätze werden initiiert.

Bundesrat Guy Parmelin
022019

Media Conference 7.2.19

Im Rahmen der Medienkonferenz vom 7. Februar in Bern konnte die FINMA Zulassung für den Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund kommuniziert werden. Stiftungsratspräsident Urs Berger betonte dabei, dass durch ein Investment in den Fund nicht nur eine Rendite sondern auch ein wichtiger "Impact" für der Schweiz erzielt werden kann.

012019

FINMA Approval

Dank einem effizienten Prozess der FINMA und unserem motivierten, interdisziplinären und hart arbeitenden Team konnten wir für den Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund Ende Januar die Zulassung erhalten. Ein überaus wichtiger Meilenstein in der Geschichte der SwissEF.

FINMA
012019

Ehrenpräsident

Altbundesrat Johann Schneider-Ammann hat die Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation mitinitiiert und hat massgeblich und mit grossem Engagement dazu beigetragen, dass die gemeinnützige Stiftung und der Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund innert gut einem Jahr erfolgreich aufgebaut werden konnten. Schneider-Ammann wurde auf Grund seiner grossen Verdienste vom Stiftungsratspräsident Urs Berger im Rahmen der Medienkonferenz vom 7. Februar 2019 zum Ehrenpräsidenten der SwissEF ernannt. 

Bundesrat Johann Schneider-Ammann
012019

Pilotprojekt SwissEF UpScaler

Das UpScaler Programm für Wachstumsfirmen wurde im Rahmen eines Pilotprojektes mit zwei Schweizer Start-ups getestet. Beide stecken mitten in der Internationalisierung, also genau in der Phase, auf die sich der SwissEF UpScaler fokussiert. Die viermonatige Testphase brachte wichtige Erkenntnisse. Dank den wertvollen Erfahrungen und dem Feedback der Experten und der Wachstumsunternehmen werden wir das Programm noch mehr intensivieren.

112018

1. Parlamentarier Anlass

Während der Wintersession konnten wir den ersten Parlamentarieranlass erfolgreich durchführen. SwissEF Präsident Urs Berger und die SwissEF Stiftungsräte Ruedi Noser und Pascale Vonmont diskutierten mit den Stände- und Nationalräten. Intensiv wurden vor allem die Besteuerung von Mitarbeiter-Aktien und -Optionen sowie die Kontingente und die Administration von qualifizierten Arbeitskräften aus Drittstaaten thematisiert. Karim Maizar, Partner bei Kellerhals Carrard und Mathias Haussmann, CEO von Ueepa AG unterstrichen den Handlungsbedarf anhand von praktischen Beispielen.

Bundesrat Johann Schneider-Ammann und die SwissEF haben 30 Startup Vertreter aus der ganzen Schweiz zum Hearing ins Bundeshaus eingeladen. Mit dem Ziel die wichtigsten Bedürfnisse zur Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen für Start-ups und für das Unternehmertum zu erfassen und zu priorisieren, wurde ein intensives zweistündiges Hearing durchgeführt. Vertieft wurden dabei die beiden Themen "Besteuerung von Aktien und Optionen" und "Qualifizierte ausländische Arbeitskräfte" diskutiert.

 
102018

Unternehmerinnen!

Das SwissEF Advisory Board konnte weiter verstärkt werden. Gleich drei erfolgreiche Unternehmerinnen konnten als neue Mitglieder gewonnen werden. Annette Heimlicher (Contrinex AG), Bettina Ernst (Preclin Biosystem) und Lea von Bidder (AVA Science) stellen der SwissEF Ihre grosse Erfahrung in Zukunft zur Verfügung.

Annette Heimlicher
062018

Alain Chuard

Der erfolgreiche Schweizer Unternehmer, der sein Startup Wildfire im Jahr 2015 an Google verkauft hat, wird Mitglied des Advisory Boards der SwissEF. Alain lebt im Silicon Valley und besucht die Schweiz regelmässig.

Alain Chuard
042018

Neuer Geschäftsführer

Der Gründer und langjährige CEO des Swiss Economic Forum (SEF), Peter Stähli übernimmt das Mandat für die Geschäftsführung der Swiss Entrepreneus Foundation (SwissEF).

Peter Stähli
122017

Gründung SwissEF

Die Stiftung Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation (SwissEF) wird unter der Schirmherrschaft von Bundesrat Johann Schneider-Ammann und unter dem Präsidium von Urs Berger gegründet.

Urs Berger
072017

Absichtserklärung

Die Absichtserklärung der beiden Schweizer Grossbanken Credit Suisse und UBS zur Gründung eines Schweizer Fonds für Risiko- und Wachstumskapital wurde unterzeichnet. Es ist nun vorgesehen, den Schweizer Fonds in den kommenden Monaten aufzusetzen und das umfangreiche Genehmigungsverfahren mit der FINMA bis im Dezember 2018 abzuschliessen.

Christian Wenger