Empowering Entrepreneurship

Enabling Growth

Faster growth

The Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation (SwissEF) is under the patronage of Federal Councillor Guy Parmelin, which he took over form former Federal Councillor Johann N. Schneider-Ammann. SwissEF focuses on improving the framework conditions for entrepreneurship. An upscaler programme and political initiatives form the central elements with a CHF 500 million Swiss fund for growth financing. Faster growth for Swiss start-ups and SMEs as well as new high-quality jobs are initiated.

 

Bundesrat Guy Parmelin

The Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation has a broad network of proven experts who are involved in our UpScaler program. Due to the exceptional situation, SwissEF has decided to make this know-how and experience available to startups and SME's that are suddenly facing the biggest challenges.

 

Following the founding of the Parliamentary Group on Startups and Entrepreneurship by National Councillors Judith Bellaiche and Andri Silberschmidt, the Swiss Entrepreneurs & Startup Association (SWESA) was launched today in Berne. The new association is intended to significantly strengthen political work to improve the framework conditions for startups and innovative SMEs.

 
022020

Marie-Gabrielle Ineichen-Fleisch new member of the SwissEF Advisory Board

We are very pleased to welcome the Head of SECO (Swiss State Secretariat of Economic Affairs) to our Advisory Board. Marie-Gabrielle Ineichen-Fleisch has a wealth of unique experience, which is very valuable not least for the political work of the Foundation. The multilingual lawyer has been Director of SECO and the Foreign Economic Affairs Directorate since 1 April 2011. Previously she worked for the consulting firm McKinsey and the World Bank. We look forward to working with her in the future.

012020

SGS is a new member of the SwissEF industry network

The internationally leading goods testing group SGS SA, based in Geneva, has joined the SwissEF industrial network. SGS supports the successful internationalisation of growth companies in SwissEF's UpScaler programme. With its entry, the company is adding its international network, with 2,600 locations in over 140 countries and the extensive experience of over 90,000 employees, to help develop the next generation of internationally successful Swiss SMEs and startups.

The Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund launched in February by the Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation has successfully completed its second fundraising phase. At a quarter of a billion francs, the target for 2019 has been achieved. Initial investments have already been carried out.

SwissEF Fund
 

On the initiative of the Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation, Federal Councillor Guy Parmelin met representatives of the most successful Swiss start-ups in the Federal Palace. The discussions focused on the current framework conditions for entrepreneurs in Switzerland and the key factors for successful internationalization.

 
102019

Short interview with Federal Councillor Guy Parmelin

Following the successful pilot at the end of 2018, the SwissEF UpScaler growth program is now being launched on a broad basis. Growth companies in the internationalisation phase will be supported by a pool of 50 renowned experts and an international industry network. By clicking on the picture you get detailed information, a factsheet and the registration link for interested start-ups.

 
092019

New Board Members

The Foundation Board and Advisory Board were supplemented by other well-known personalities. Claudio Cisullo, IT entrepreneur, investor and board member with various mandates, was newly elected to the foundation board. Rémi Walbau, Chief Innovation Officer of EHL Lausanne and President of Innovaud, supports the Advisory Board of SwissEF with immediate effect. We look forward to our future cooperation.

The Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund, launched in February this year by the Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation, has successfully concluded its first round of fundraising, in an amount totalling CHF 190 million. In consequence, the fund can from August start investing in Swiss start-ups and growth-stage innovative SMEs.

SwissEF Fund
 
062019

1st Advisory Board Meeting

Last week the 1st Advisory Board Meeting of SwissEF took place. In addition to an interesting and multi-faceted discussion, Aude Pugin reported on the challenges facing Swiss companies in terms of framework conditions and internationalisation. Daniel Gutenberg gave us an insight into the start-up nation Israel. You can find some impressions of the meeting in the video.

052019

ScaleUp Network Switzerland

In order to optimally promote the scale-up of start-ups in Switzerland, EPFL Lausanne, EPFL Innovation Park, Innovaud and SwissEF have joined forces to form the ScaleUp Network Switzerland. The synergies between the individual funding programmes and the respective pools of experts are exploited in a targeted manner, experience is continuously exchanged and start-ups from all over Switzerland are systematically networked in the scale-up phase. The aim of the new cooperation is to accelerate the growth of Swiss start-ups in the internationalisation phase and thereby significantly increase the success rate.

ScaleUp Network
022019

Statement of Federal Councillor Guy Parmelin

022019

Media Conference 7.2.19

The FINMA approval for the Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund was communicated at the media conference held on 7 February in Berne. Urs Berger, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, stressed that investing in the fund not only generates a return but also an important "impact" for Switzerland.

022019

New Members for the Foundation Board

The foundation board warmly welcomes further important members. We are delighted with the commitments made by Martin Vetterli, President of EPFL Lausanne, and Beat Vonlanthen, Member of the Council of States CVP. In addition to a great gain in experience and know-how, the two new members have also strengthened the representation of Western Switzerland in the Foundation Board.

012019

FINMA Approval

Thanks to an efficient FINMA process and our motivated, interdisciplinary and hard-working team, we were able to obtain approval for the Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund at the end of January. An extremely important milestone in the history of the SwissEF.

FINMA
012019

Honorary President

Former Federal Councillor Johann Schneider-Ammann was one of the initiators of the Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation and made a significant and committed contribution to the successful establishment of the non-profit foundation and the Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund within just over a year. Schneider-Ammann was appointed Honorary President of SwissEF by the Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Urs Berger, at the media conference on 7 February 2019 on the basis of his great merits.

Bundesrat Johann Schneider-Ammann
012019

Pilot Project

The UpScaler program for growth companies was tested in a pilot project with two Swiss start-ups. Both are in the midst of internationalisation, i.e. exactly in the phase on which the SwissEF UpScaler is focusing. The four-month test phase provided important insights. Thanks to the valuable experience and feedback from the experts and the growth companies, we will intensify the program even further.

112018

1st Parliamentarian Meeting

During the winter session, we were able to successfully hold the first parliamentary event. SwissEF President Urs Berger and the SwissEF Foundation Councils Ruedi Noser and Pascale Vonmont discussed the issue with the Councils of States and National Councils. The taxation of employee shares and options as well as the quotas and administration of qualified employees from third countries were the main topics of intensive discussion. Karim Maizar, Partner at Kellerhals Carrard and Mathias Haussmann, CEO of Ueepa AG, underlined the need for action with practical examples.

112018

Hearing @ Federal Palace

Federal Councillor Johann Schneider-Ammann and SwissEF have invited 30 start-up representatives from all over Switzerland to a hearing at the Federal Palace. An intensive two-hour hearing was held with the aim of identifying and prioritising the most important needs for improving the framework conditions for start-ups and entrepreneurship. The two topics "Taxation of shares and options" and "Qualified foreign workers" were discussed in greater depth.

[Translate to english:]

102018

Female Entrepreneurs

The SwissEF Advisory Board was further strengthened. Three successful female entrepreneurs were recruited as new members. Annette Heimlicher (Contrinex AG), Bettina Ernst (Preclin Biosystem) and Lea von Bidder (AVA Science) will make their extensive experience available to SwissEF in the future.

Annette Heimlicher
062018

Alain Chuard

The successful Swiss entrepreneur, who sold his startup Wildfire to Google in 2015, will become a member of the Advisory Board of SwissEF. Alain lives in Silicon Valley and visits Switzerland regularly.

Alain Chuard
042018

New Managing Director

Peter Stähli – founder and long-standing CEO of the Swiss Economic Forum (SEF) – takes on the role of Managing Director at the Swiss Entrepreneurship Foundation (SwissEF).

Peter Stähli
122017

Establishment SwissEF

The Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation is founded under the patronage of Swiss Federal Councillor Johann N. Schneider-Ammann, with Urs Berger as President.

 

Urs Berger
072017

Letter of intent

Declaration of intent for establishing a Swiss fund for venture and growth capital signed by Credit Suisse and UBS, two major Swiss banks. It is now planned to establish the fund in the coming months and conclude the extensive authorisation process with FINMA by December 2018.

 

Christian Wenger

Encourager l'entrepreneuriat

Favoriser la croissance

Une croissance plus rapide

La Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation (SwissEF) est placée sous le haut patronage du conseiller fédéral Guy Parmelin, qu'il a repris de l'ancien conseiller fédéral Johann N. Schneider-Ammann. La SwissEF se consacre à l'amélioration des conditions-cadres pour l'entrepreneuriat. Un programme UpScaler, plusieurs initiatives politiques ainsi qu'un fonds suisse de financement de la croissance de 500 millions de CHF constituent les éléments centraux. L'objectif est d'accélérer la croissance et de créer de nouveaux emplois de qualité dans les start-ups et les PME suisses.

Bundesrat Guy Parmelin

Le 30 octobre 2020, l'Administration fédérale des contributions a publié des modifications bienvenues à sa circulaire sur l'imposition des participations de collaborateur. Cela a créé la base d'une pratique fiscale uniforme dans toute la Suisse dans ce domaine. SWESA a participé au processus de consultation correspondant et a pu représenter activement les intérêts de la communauté des startups.

 
092020

Cinq startups dans le programme UpScaler

Récemment, le programme UpScaler a été lancé avec la société Zippsafe. Zippsafe fabrique un système novateur de vestiaire basé sur des housses de rangement flexibles en textile au lieu de métal rigide. Il nécessite jusqu'à 70% moins d'espace et est également convivial et intelligent. Afin d'accélérer la croissance de l'entreprise, les workshops seront axés sur la vente et la distribution. Avec PXL Vision, MyCamper.ch, Dagsmejan et Climeworks, cinq start-ups prometteuses complètent actuellement le programme UpScaler du SwissEF.

Au cours de l'été, le Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund a réalisé son quatrième investissement direct. Yamo se décrit comme une entreprise "Foodtech" et produit des aliments biologiques frais pour bébés en utilisant un procédé innovant. Tous les produits sont pressés à froid pour préserver les vitamines et ne contiennent aucun additif.

 
052020

SwissEF UpScaler module de financement

Suite à la crise de Corona, les questions concernant le financement des startups ont été encore plus ciblées qu'auparavant. SwissEF a adapté son programme UpScaler en conséquence et propose désormais un module de financement spécifique. Parmi les participants précédents figurait ANYbotics de Zurich.

La semaine dernière, le Conseil fédéral a communiqué son soutien en matière de liquidités pour les startups. Les demandes de soutien doivent être introduites sur le site web EasyGov. Ils sont ensuite transmis aux cantons compétents pour examen. Si nécessaire, ceux-ci peuvent faire appel à une commission d'experts sous la direction d'Innosuisse. Au sein du SwissEF, le CEO Peter Stähli et Pascale Vonmont, membre du conseil de fondation, sont représentés dans l'équipe d'experts.

 

Depuis trois semaines, le SwissEF est à la pointe des mesures de soutien aux startups. Avec d'autres acteurs et personnalités clés de la scène des startup, des efforts ont été déployés par tous les canaux possibles pour trouver une solution efficace et utile. Le Conseil fédéral a maintenant approuvé un programme de garantie de 154 millions.

 

Le Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund investit dans une autre entreprise suisse prometteuse et à fort potentiel. La start-up lausannoise produit des équipements innovants pour la recherche sur le cancer et le diagnostic tissulaire. Des informations complémentaires sont disponibles dans le communiqué de presse correspondant.

 

La Fondation suisse pour l'entrepreneuriat dispose d'un vaste réseau d'experts confirmés qui participent à notre programme UpScaler. En raison de cette situation exceptionnelle, le SwissEF a décidé de mettre son savoir-faire et son expérience à la disposition des start-ups et des PME qui sont soudainement confrontées aux plus grands défis.

 

Après la création du groupe parlementaire pour les startup et l’entrepreneuriat par la conseillère nationale Judith Bellaiche et le conseiller national Andri Silberschmidt, la Swiss Entrepreneurs & Startup Association (SWESA) a été lancée aujourd’hui à Berne. Cette nouvelle association a pour but de renforcer sensiblement l’action politique visant à améliorer les conditions cadres pour les jeunes pousses et les PME innovantes.

 
022020

Marie-Gabrielle Ineichen-Fleisch nouveau membre du SwissEF Advisory Board

Nous sommes très heureux d'accueillir la directrice du SECO (Secrétariat d'État suisse à l'économie) au sein de notre Advisory Board. Marie-Gabrielle Ineichen-Fleisch dispose d'une expérience unique et très précieuse, notamment pour le travail politique de la Fondation. La juriste multilingue est directrice du SECO et de la Direction des affaires économiques extérieures depuis le 1er avril 2011. Auparavant, elle a travaillé pour la société de conseil McKinsey et la Banque mondiale. Nous nous réjouissons de travailler avec elle à l'avenir.

012020

SGS, nouveau membre du réseau industriel SwissEF

Le groupe de contrôle de marchandises SGS SA, leader international basé à Genève, rejoint le réseau industriel de SwissEF. SGS soutient les entreprises en croissance du programme UpScaler de SwissEF pour réussir leur internationalisation. À cet effet, l'entreprise met à disposition son réseau international avec 2 600 sites dans plus de 140 pays, ainsi que la grande expérience de plus de 90 000 employés, pour aider à bâtir la prochaine génération de PME et startups suisses prospères sur le plan international.

Lancé en février par la Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation, le Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund a achevé avec succès sa deuxième phase de levée de fonds, parvenant avec un quart de milliard de francs à atteindre l’objectif fixé pour 2019. De premiers investissements ont déjà pu être opérés.

SwissEF Fund
 

A l'initiative de la Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation, le conseiller fédéral Guy Parmelin a rencontré des représentants des start-up suisses les plus performantes au Parlement fédéral. Les discussions se sont concentrées sur les conditions cadres actuelles pour les entrepreneurs en Suisse et sur les facteurs clés d'une internationalisation réussie.

 
102019

Entretien avec Conseiller Fédéral Guy Parmelin

Après le succès de la phase pilote fin 2018, le programme de financement SwissEF UpScaler est maintenant lancé sur une large base. Les entreprises de croissance en phase d'internationalisation seront soutenues par un pool de 50 experts renommés et un réseau industriel international. Cliquez sur l'image pour obtenir des informations détaillées, une fiche d'information (en anglais) et le link d'inscription pour les start-ups intéressées.

 
092019

Nouveaux membres pour les Conseils

Le Conseil de fondation et le Conseil consultatif ont été complétés par d'autres personnalités de renom. Claudio Cisullo, entrepreneur en informatique, investisseur et membre du conseil d'administration avec différents mandats, a été élu au conseil de la fondation. Rémi Walbau, Chief Innovation Officer de l'EHL Lausanne et Président d'Innovaud, soutient le Conseil consultatif de SwissEF avec effet immédiat. Nous attendons avec impatience notre coopération future.

Lancé par la Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation en février 2019, le Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund a achevé avec succès sa première phase de levée de fonds, parvenant à réunir la somme de 190 millions de francs. Dès le mois d’août, le fonds sera ainsi en mesure d’investir dans des start-up suisses et des PME innovantes en phase de croissance.

SwissEF Fund
 
062019

1ère Advisory Board Meeting

La semaine dernière la 1ère réunion du Advisory Board de SwissEF a eu lieu. Outre une discussion intéressante et riche en facettes, Aude Pugin a présenté les défis auxquels les entreprises suisses sont confrontées en termes de conditions cadres et d'internationalisation. Daniel Gutenberg nous a donné un aperçu de la Start-Up Nation Israël. Vous trouverez quelques impressions de la réunion dans la vidéo.

052019

ScaleUp Network Switzerland

Afin de promouvoir la croissance des start-up en Suisse, l’EPFL, l’EPFL Innovation Park, Innovaud et la SwissEF ont créé le réseau ScaleUp Network Switzerland. Celui-ci cherche à exploiter de manière ciblée les synergies entre les différents programmes de promotion et les pools d’experts, à partager les expériences en continu et à mettre systématiquement en réseau les start-up en phase d’expansion de toute la Suisse. L’objectif de cette nouvelle coopération est d’accélérer la croissance des start-up suisses en phase d’internationalisation et, partant, d’augmenter sensiblement leur taux de réussite.

ScaleUp Network
022019

Message du conseiller fédéral Guy Parmelin

022019

Media Conference 7.2.19

L'approbation de la FINMA pour le Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund a été communiquée lors de la conférence de presse du 7 février à Berne. Urs Berger, président du Conseil de fondation, a souligné que l'investissement dans le fonds génère non seulement un rendement, mais aussi un "impact" important pour la Suisse.

[Translate to français:]

022019

Nouveaux membres du Conseil de fondation

Deux nouveaux membres éminents ont été élus au Conseil de fondation. Nous sommes heureux de vous annoncer la nomination de Martin Vetterli, président de l’EPFL, et de Beat Vonlanthen, conseiller aux États PDC. En plus de bénéficier d’une solide expérience et de connaissances très pointues, les deux nouveaux membres renforcent également la représentation de la Suisse romande au sein du Conseil de fondation.

012019

FINMA Approval

Grâce à un processus FINMA efficace et à une équipe motivée, interdisciplinaire et laborieuse, nous avons pu obtenir fin janvier l'agrément pour le Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund. Une étape extrêmement importante dans l'histoire du SwissEF.

FINMA
012019

Président d'Honneur

L'ancien conseiller fédéral Johann Schneider-Ammann a été l'un des initiateurs de la Fondation suisse des entrepreneurs et a contribué de manière significative et engagée au succès de la fondation et du Swiss Entrepreneurs Fund au cours d'une bonne année. Schneider-Ammann a été nommé président d'honneur de SwissEF par le président du Conseil de fondation Urs Berger lors de la conférence de presse du 7 février 2019, en raison de ses grands mérites. 

Bundesrat Johann Schneider-Ammann
012019

Projet Pilot

Le programme UpScaler pour les entreprises en croissance a été testé dans le cadre d'un projet pilote avec deux start-up suisses. Tous deux sont en plein processus d'internationalisation, c'est-à-dire exactement dans la phase sur laquelle le SwissEF UpScaler se concentre. La phase d'essai de quatre mois a permis d'obtenir d'importants résultats. Grâce à la précieuse expérience et aux retours d'expérience des experts et des entreprises de croissance, nous allons encore plus loin dans l'intensification du programme.

112018

1. Événement Parlementaire

Au cours de la session d'hiver, nous avons pu organiser avec succès le premier événement parlementaire. Urs Berger, président du SwissEF, et Ruedi Noser et Pascale Vonmont, membres du Conseil de fondation du SwissEF, ont discuté avec les Conseils des Etats et les Conseils nationaux. L'imposition des actions et des options des salariés ainsi que les quotas et la gestion des travailleurs qualifiés de pays tiers ont fait l'objet de discussions approfondies. Karim Maizar, associé chez Kellerhals Carrard et Mathias Haussmann, CEO d'Ueepa AG, ont souligné la nécessité d'agir par des exemples pratiques.

Le conseiller fédéral Johann Schneider-Ammann et la SwissEF ont invité 30 représentants de start-ups de toute la Suisse à une audition au palais fédéral visant à identifier et à hiérarchiser les principaux besoins afin d'améliorer les conditions-cadres des start-ups et de l'entrepreneuriat. Cette rencontre intensive a duré deux heures. Les deux sujets «Taxation fiscale des actions et imposition des options» et «Travailleurs étrangers qualifiés» ont fait l'objet de discussions approfondies.

 
102018

Femme et entrepreneuse!

Le conseil consultatif de la SwissEF a encore été renforcé. Trois femmes d'affaires à succès ont pu être gagnées en tant que nouveaux membres. Annette Heimlicher (Contrinex AG), Bettina Ernst (Preclin Biosystem) et Lea von Bidder (AVA Science) mettrons leur expérience à la disposition de la SwissEF.

Annette Heimlicher
062018

Alain Chuard

L'entrepreneur suisse à succès, qui a vendu sa start-up Wildfire à Google en 2015, deviendra membre du conseil consultatif de SwissEF. Alain vit dans le Silicon Valley et se rend régulièrement en Suisse.

Alain Chuard
042018

Nouveau directeur général

Le fondateur et PDG de longue date du Swiss Economic Forum (SEF), Peter Stähli, devient directeur de la Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation (SwissEF).

Peter Stähli
122017

Création de la SwissEF

La Swiss Entrepreneurs Foundation (SwissEF) a été créée sous le haut patronage du conseiller fédéral M. Johann Schneider-Ammann et sous la présidence de M. Urs Berger.

Urs Berger
072017

Protocole d'entente

Signature du protocole d'entente entre les deux grandes banques suisses, le Credit Suisse et l'UBS, en vue de la création d'un fonds suisse de placements à risques et de capital de développement. Il est actuellement prévu de créer le fonds suisse dans les prochains mois et de venir à bout de la vaste procédure d'autorisation avec la FINMA d'ici décembre 2018.

Christian Wenger